Hmong College Prep Academy Volleyball Gearing Up For 2019 Season

By Dave Bonko

With participating in a new athletic conference and the addition of new players, there’s a lot of excitement being generated for the upcoming Hmong College Prep Academy’s Girls’ Volleyball season.

“The squad is very eager to get this year going,” stated Head Coach Fong Vang. “We have about 30 girls out this year and I’m looking forward to seeing what they all can do.”

This season, HCPA will compete in the newly formed Eastern Minnesota Athletic Conference, EMAC. The new conference is comprised of ten schools that left the Twin Cities Athletic Conference last year. HCPA will field teams at the varsity, junior varsity and C-team levels.

“I’m looking for our team to be very competitive in the new conference,” added Coach Vang. “We play a number of very good teams this year. United Christian Academy will be tough and we’ve always had great matches with them. So far, our players have been working very hard during pre-season practices to prepare for this year.”

Coach Vang is excited about a number of key players, including freshman Ella Chang. “Ella is a new addition to our team this year. She brings a lot of skills and knowledge to the team. Her abilities will fill a gap we had last year and she’s going really help out the squad.”

The Lady Warriors open their 2019 schedule on the road against Washington Technology Magnet, 6:30 PM on Thursday, August 29th.

2019 HCPA Girls’ Volleyball Schedule

Date Opponent   Time
Thursday, August 29 Washington Technology Magnet Away 6:30 PM
Tuesday, September 3 Math and Science Academy Home 6:00 PM
Thursday, September 5 Hiawatha Collegiate Home 6:00 PM
Tuesday, September 10 Liberty Classical Away 6:00 PM
Thursday, September 12 Community of Peace Home 5:45 PM
Friday, September 13 Lakes International Language Academy Away 6:00 PM
Tuesday, September 17 Avail Academy Away 7:00 PM
Wednesday, September 18 Prairie Seeds Home 6:00 PM
Friday, September 20 Trinity Away 6:30 PM
Tuesday, September 24 St. Paul Humboldt/OWL Away 6:00 PM
Thursday, September 26 United Christian Academy Home 6:00 PM
Saturday, September 28 Twin Cities Academy/Great River Away 6:30 PM
Tuesday, October 1 AFSA Home 6:00 PM
Monday, October 7 Cristo Rey Jesuit Home 6:30 PM
Thursday, October 10 North Lakes Academy Home 6:30 PM
Monday, October 14 Minneapolis Henry Home 6:00 PM